The Tabby Awards judging panel announced; Branchfire CEO will act as chairman

April 3, 2013

Sure, there are the Oscars, the Grammys, Olympic gold medals, the Nobel Peace Prize, and even the Stanley Cup, but for tablet app developers and publishers, there is nothing more exciting than participating in The Tabby Awards.

Building on the success of last year’s Tabby Awards /Business competition, TabTimes – in partnership with the Application Developers Alliance – is now producing the only competition worldwide for the best iPad, Android and Windows 8 tablet apps for consumers. Judges will review submissions in 27 different categories that mirror what consumers might see in an app store.

Who are the judges?

Judges were chosen among  tech journalists and professionals having an expertise in app development.

Ravi Bhatt, who co-founded Branchfire, saw his iAnnotate PDF application win two Tabby Awards /Business trophies last year. He will chair the judging panel.

George Jones, TabTimes columnist and founding editor, currently director of programming at Wikia and previously editor-in-chief of Maximum PC and Computer Gaming World magazines, will act as Vice-Chairman.

"I am excited to be the chairperson of The Tabby Awards and to work with a respected panel of tablet industry experts to recognize the increasingly critical role of tablet-based applications in our work and play," Bhatt said. "Whether it's managing personal finance, drawing notes with your finger, tapping to victory in a game or flicking through the pages of a multimedia magazine, tablet applications are permeating our personal and professional lives and opening up countless opportunities for innovation from developers large and small."

The Tabby Awards judges named include:

  • D. R. Arthur, CTO, DomiKnow and

  • Glen Botha, Android developer

  • Judy Brown, Mobile Learning Strategic Analyst

  • Phillipe Browning, Vice President, Advertising & Operations, CBS Mobile

  • Raluca Budiu, Senior researcher, Nielsen Norman Group

  • Calvin Carter, President, Bottle Rocket Apps

  • Jon-Paul Dumont, Senior Director of Game Design, Zynga

  • Sam Feuer, Founder & CEO, Mindsmack Games,, FastMall App

  • Jesse Freeman, Technical Evangelist at Microsoft

  • Magnus Gylje, iPad developer, editor, Swedish daily paper Svenska Dagbladet

  • Yon Hardisty, CEO, Monkey Byte Development

  • Larry Magid, CBS News technology analyst and co-director of

  • Harry McCracken, technology columnist, Time Magazine

  • Jeff Moore, Database Administrator, Austin Convention Center

  • Jon Mulder, Worldwide Head of the Lenovo Windows 8 Store and Program Manager for Lenovo Developer Program

  • Henry Oh, Director of Strategic Initiatives, Animoca / Outblaze Ventures

  • Michael Prichard, Founder & CTO at WillowTree Apps

  • Juan Reyes, CTO, BluFocus

  • Andy Rosic, Founder, Selfpubd

  • Dave Swartz, Co-Founder, President & CCO, MEDL Mobile

  • Greg Wimp, Analyst, Evans Data

If you are a tablet app developer or publisher, take action now: you have less than two weeks to submit your app for the competition. Deadline for applications is April 15. (Check  the competition guildelines first.)

Winners will be announced and the coveted Tabby Awards trophies will be presented during a ceremony at a new TabTimes conference in San Francisco on September 12, 2013. Stay tuned!


Load More