avatarby Robert TriggsOctober 27, 20160 comments

MacBook 3

In case you missed the memo, there’s a “hello again” Apple event taking place today, where the company is expected to unveil its new Macbook Pro that has already leaked rather extensively. The event is scheduled to taking place at 10am PDT today, Thursday October 27.

If you’re planning to tune in, Apple will be streaming the entire event on its website via this link. The Apple event livestream uses the company’s HTTP Live Streaming technology, which requires viewers to meet a bunch of minimum requirements. These are Safari on iOS 7.0 or later, Safari 6.0.5 on OS X v10.8.5 or newer, or Microsoft Edge on Windows 10. You can also tune in through an updated Apple TV. If you’re worried about missing the event, this link will directly add the event to your calendar.

Local times for the launch event are set at San Francisco 10AM / New York 1PM / London 6PM / Berlin 7PM / Moscow 8PM / Beijing 1AM (October 28th) / Tokyo 2AM (October 28th) / Sydney 4AM (October 28th).

As for what to expect, there’s a new touch-sensitive OLED control bar that replaces the familiar function keys. This will apparently be able to provide contextual functions based on the current application. A TouchID sensor is also expected to make an appearance, along with a port reduction down to just two USB-Type-C connectors.

Will you be watching?